Economics National/ Domestic Affairs Policy/ Yojana

AP govt appoints TTD new board with 24 members, 4 ex-officio members

Tirupati : The Andhra Pradesh government appointed the Board of Trustees of the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD), the body which administers Tirupati’s Lord Venkateswara temple, according to a Government Order (GO) issued here on Wednesday night.
The tenure of the members are conterminous with the Chairman of the TTD Board and will be as per section 99 of Act 30/1987, the order said.
The Government had earlier appointed Y V Subba Reddy as the TTD Trust Board Chairman for a second consecutive term.
The government named 28 trust board members including four ex-officio members and 52 special invitees.
Among the special invitees are Bhumana Karunakar Reddy (Tirupati MLA) and S Sudhakar, Chairman of AP Brahmin Welfare Corporation.
Prominent businessmen and politicians in the TTD, which has an annual budget of over Rs 3500 crore are Dr Bandi Parthasaradhi Reddy ( Chairman and Managing Director of Hetero Group), Dr Jupalli Rameswara Rao( Chairman, My Home Group), N Srinivasan ( Managing Director of India Cements and former BCCI president), Malladi Krishna Rao ( former Minister of Puducherry) and MLAs Burra Madhusudan Yadav, Kiliveti Sanjeevaiah and Katasani Rambhupal Reddy are among the members.
Principal Secretary of the Revenue (Endowments) Department; Commissioner of Endowments Department; Chairman of Tirupati Urban Development Authority (TUDA) and Executive Officer Of TTD, are the ex-officio members of Board, the order said.
The Special invitees will not have any voting right while passing resolutions in the board but they will be given protocol on par with TTD Trust Board members regarding darshan and their tenure is conterminous with the TTD Board, the Order added.
The government has given adequate representation to neighbouring States in the Trust Board, while several former members have been retained. The previous Trust Board, too, had the same number of members, 24, and four ex-officio members.
The new trust comprises four members from Telangana, three from Tamil Nadu, two from Karnataka and one each from West Bengal ,Delhi and Maharashtra.
According to the list, the members from Karnataka are Dr Ketan Desai, Shashidhar, Sankar and MLA Vishwanath Reddy while from Kolkata are Saurabh and businessman Maruti, Auditor Sanath and Jeevan Reddy of MSN labs.
Few other business associates of Chief Minister Jaganmohan Reddy, who got a second term were My home Rameshwar Rao and India cements N Srinivasan from Chennai, and Dr B Parthasarathy Reddy of Hetero Pharma.

Related posts